Poems (T. S. Eliot)

empty image icon

Poems (T. S. Eliot)





Eliot's second book of poetry after Prufrock and Other Observations, which had been published by The Egoist in 1917. This collection contains some of the Sweeney poems, "Gerontion," "Whispers of Immortality" and "Dans le Restaurant" among others. The book did remarkably well and was out of print by the middle of 1920. A number of Eliot's letters to and about the Woolfs regarding the publication survive and can be found in The Letters of T. S. Eliot (1988).

Table of Contents: 

Sweeney Among the Nightingales

The Hippopotamus

Mr. Eliot's Sunday Morning Service

Whispers of Immortality

Le Spectateur

Melange Adultere de Tout

Lune de Miel